News Projects Publications People Contact Partners My_account


Jorge de Sousa Pires

Jorge de Sousa Pires, Ph.D and Associate Professor in Semiconductor Physics from Uppsala University, Sweden. Half life in Industry and half in Academia, now working as a senior lecturer at Linnaeus University, department of Media Technology. Great interest technology-enhanced learning and author of several books on the topic. Very interested in mobility, and its main possibility to make technology really personal and ubiquitous especially in learning but also in a broader perspective to increase a person’s quality of life (just as spectacles increase the quality of life for those who do not see well).

Sousa Pires is responsible for several courses on video, advanced video production as well as drama and he links undergraduate students with research (e.g. MUSIS project conducted by colleague M. Milrad); at one time the students produced for the Internet, then for mobile devices and now they are into the production of small learning units for podcasting. Sousa Pires is also responsible for four courses on technology-enhanced learning for in-service teachers; last but not least he takes great pleasure in holding another exciting course about Art and Technological Research.

Contact info



Latest publications

Metcalf, D., Milrad, M., & de Sousa Pires, J. (2006). Renaissance mLearning: A Renewed Mobile Strategy. Proceedings of M-Learn 2006 held in Banff, Canada, October 22-25th.

Milrad, M & De Sousa Pires, J. (2005). MUSIS: Educational Mobile Services to Support Learning and Communication in University Classrooms. Proceedings of the 11th International Conference on Technology Supported Learning and Training, Berlin, Nov 30 - Dec 2, 2005.

Sousa Pires, J. & Milrad, M. (2005). (In Swedish). TV överallt... och du är producenten. Smålandsposten , February 12th, 2005.

See all the publications >>


Aris Alissandrakis

Mattias Davidsson

Marc Jansen

Ilir Jusufi

Dan Kohen-Vacs

Marcelo Milrad

Susanna Nordmark

Nuno Otero

Sadaf Salavati

Jorge L. Zapico

PhD Students

Martin Östlund

Alisa Lincke

Maximilian Müller

Sarwar Morshed

Oskar Pettersson

Nico Reski

Janosch Zbick

Research Assistants

Romain Herault

Katrin Lindwall



Claudio Alvarez

Jorge de Sousa Pires

Lampros Dragomoiris

Andreas Kerren

David Metcalf

Anita Mirijamdotter


Mhretab Kidane

Asreen Rostami

Former members

Marianne Björn

Julia Bons

Lusia Erldorfer

Robert Fohlin

Lisbeth Frølunde

Didac Gil de la Iglesia

Emil Johansson

David Johansson

Miranda Kajtazi

Sandra Kaltofen

Arianit Kurti

Dejan Ljubojevic

Lars Lorenz

Martin Maczkowski

Osama Mansour

Beatrice Moltkau

Magnus Persson

Lisa M. Rühmann

Juwel Rana

Valeriy Savinov

Daniel Spikol

Martin Svensson

Bahtijar Vogel

Editor Web

Dennis Willuhn

Anna Wingkvist

Simon Winter

Jane Yin-Kim Yau

Per Flensburg

Astrid Wichmann

Andreas Jeansson

Fredrik Alserin

Jonas Gustafsson

Philipp Rossmanith

Marine Karlsson

Carina Hallqvist

Taha Taha

Gunnar Mosnik

Ola Andersson