News Projects Publications People Contact Partners My_account


Maximilian Müller

Maximilian Müller is a PhD Student in Computer and Information Science at Linnaeus University, Sweden, since May 2013. He is also a member of CeLeKT at the Media Technology department since October 2011 where he has spent an internship and written his Master’s thesis with the research group.

Maximilian holds a MSc in Media Informatics from the University of Applied Sciences (Beuth Hochschule) Berlin, Germany (Thesis: “Evaluation of the multi-touch and air gesture interaction paradigms in data visualization in a learning environment”) and he completed a BEng in Information Technology at the University of Applied Sciences (HAWK) Göttingen, Germany.

Currently, his research projects are centred around interactive digital public displays. This divides into both the development of applications and systems as well as the subsequent evaluation of the technology once applied. In addition, he has interests in the fields of interactive systems design including multi-touch surfaces, large screen environments and mobile devices on the one hand and novel interaction technologies, pervasive computing and conceptual HCI frameworks on the other.

Contact info

E-mail: maximilian.muller [at]
Office: D2267C


Latest publications

Hoppe, U., Müller, M., Alissandrakis, A., Milrad, M., Schneegaß, C. and Malzahn, N., “VC/DC” - Video versus Domain Concepts in Comments to Learner - generated Science Videos, _Proceedings of the 24th International Conference on Computers in Education_ (ICCE 2016), Mumbai, India, 2016.

Müller, M., Otero, N. and Milrad, M. Shared Interactive Music Experiences in Public Spaces: User Engagement and Motivations. Proceedings of the ACM International Conference on Interactive Surfaces and Spaces (ISS 2016), 2016, Niagara Falls, Canada.

Müller, M., Alissandrakis, A. and Otero, N. There is more to come: Anticipating content on interactive public displays through timer animations. Proceedings of the International Symposium on Pervasive Displays (PerDis), 2016, Oulu, Finland.

Dadzie, A.-S.; Müller, M.; Alissandrakis, A. and Milrad, M. (2015). Collaborative Learning through Creative Video Composition on Distributed User Interfaces. In: 2nd International Conference on Smart Learning Environments (ICSLE 2015), 23-25 September 2015, Sinaia, Romania; Lecture Notes in Educational Technology: State-of-the-Art and Future Directions of Smart Learning, 199-210, Springer-Verlag GmbH, Heidelberg.

José, R., Müller, M., Felix, A., and Silva, B. An application framework for place-based displays with mobile interaction. Proceedings of the International Symposium on Pervasive Displays (PerDis), 2015, Saarbrücken, Germany.

Müller, M., Otero, N., Alissandrakis, A. and Milrad, M. Increasing user engagement with distributed public displays through the awareness of peer interactions. Proceedings of the International Symposium on Pervasive Displays (PerDis), 2015, Saarbrücken, Germany.

See all the publications >>


Aris Alissandrakis

Mattias Davidsson

Marc Jansen

Ilir Jusufi

Dan Kohen-Vacs

Marcelo Milrad

Susanna Nordmark

Nuno Otero

Sadaf Salavati

Jorge L. Zapico

PhD Students

Martin Östlund

Alisa Lincke

Maximilian Müller

Sarwar Morshed

Oskar Pettersson

Nico Reski

Janosch Zbick

Research Assistants

Romain Herault

Katrin Lindwall



Claudio Alvarez

Jorge de Sousa Pires

Lampros Dragomoiris

Andreas Kerren

David Metcalf

Anita Mirijamdotter


Mhretab Kidane

Asreen Rostami

Former members

Marianne Björn

Julia Bons

Lusia Erldorfer

Robert Fohlin

Lisbeth Frølunde

Didac Gil de la Iglesia

Emil Johansson

David Johansson

Miranda Kajtazi

Sandra Kaltofen

Arianit Kurti

Dejan Ljubojevic

Lars Lorenz

Martin Maczkowski

Osama Mansour

Beatrice Moltkau

Magnus Persson

Lisa M. Rühmann

Juwel Rana

Valeriy Savinov

Daniel Spikol

Martin Svensson

Bahtijar Vogel

Editor Web

Dennis Willuhn

Anna Wingkvist

Simon Winter

Jane Yin-Kim Yau

Per Flensburg

Astrid Wichmann

Andreas Jeansson

Fredrik Alserin

Jonas Gustafsson

Philipp Rossmanith

Marine Karlsson

Carina Hallqvist

Taha Taha

Gunnar Mosnik

Ola Andersson