News Projects Publications People Contact Partners My_account


Daniel Spikol

Daniel Spikol is Senior Lecturer of Media Technology at the School of Computer Science, Physics and Mathematics. He also is a researcher at the Center for Learning and Knowledge Technologies (CeLeKT) at the university. His current research interests include the design and development of mobile and ubiquitous environments that explore different modes of collaboration that foster formal and informal inquiry-based learning and epistemic gaming. Spikol is interested in expanding the role of design to support understanding how people can navigate across physical and learning spaces in active and creative ways that go beyond media consumption. He is presently involved in a number of European and National projects exploring how mobile and wireless technologies can be used to support new ways of learning and how these technologies can support groups of learners when they, collectively, share and reflect about their understanding in these learning environments. One of his objectives is to explore how open standards between different devices and software can be leveraged to support and orchestrate collaborative learning. Previously he has worked for the Interactive Institute that is part of the Swedish Institute of Computer Science (SICS), founded and ran a design agency and was a creative director for the LEGO group.

Contact info


Latest publications

D. Spikol, N. Ehrenberg, D. Cuartielles, and J. Zbick, “Design Strategies for developing a Visual Platform for Physical Computing with Mobile Tools for Project Documentation and Reflection,” in AIED 2015 Workshop Proceedings, 2015, vol. 2, pp. 57–62.

J. Zbick, B. Vogel, D. Spikol, M. Jansen, and M. Milrad, “Toward an Adaptive and Adaptable Architecture to Support Ubiquitous Learning Activities,” in Mobile, Ubiquitous, and Pervasive Learning, A. Peña-Ayala, Ed. Springer, 2016, pp. 193–222.

Cerratto-Pargman, T., Otero, N., Milrad, M., Spikol,D., Kutsson, O., Ramberg, R. (2014). Purposeful Learning Across Collaborative Educational Spaces. In Proceedings of the International Conference of the Learning Sciences (ICLS) 2014, Learning and becoming in practice; Volume 1. Boulder, CO, pp 1597-1598, International Society of the Learning Sciences.

Pea, R., Milrad, M., Maldonado, H., Vogel, B., Kurti, A., & Spikol, D. (2012). Learning and Technological Designs for Mobile Science Inquiry collaboratories. Book chapter in Littleton, K., Scanlon, E., & Sharples. M., (Eds.), Orchestrating Inquiry Learning. London UK: Routledge.

Spikol D. & Elisasson, J. (2010). Lessons from Designing Geometry Learning Activities that Combine Mobile and 3D Tools. Proceedings of the 6th IEEE WMUTE International Conference on Wireless, Mobile and Ubiquitous Technologies in Education WMUTE 2010 held in Kaohsiung, Taiwan, April 12-16th, 2010.

Vogel, B., Kurti, A., Spikol, D, & Milrad, M. (2010). Exploring the benefits of open standard initiatives for supporting inquiry-based science learning. Proceedings of the Fifth European Conference on Technology Enhanced Learning, EC-TEL 2010, held in Barcelona, Spain, September 28 - October 1, 2010, Lecture Notes in Computer Science, Springer-Verlag, Berlin/Heidelberg. pp. 596-601.

See all the publications >>


Aris Alissandrakis

Mattias Davidsson

Marc Jansen

Ilir Jusufi

Dan Kohen-Vacs

Marcelo Milrad

Susanna Nordmark

Nuno Otero

Sadaf Salavati

Jorge L. Zapico

PhD Students

Martin Östlund

Alisa Lincke

Maximilian Müller

Sarwar Morshed

Oskar Pettersson

Nico Reski

Janosch Zbick

Research Assistants

Romain Herault

Katrin Lindwall



Claudio Alvarez

Jorge de Sousa Pires

Lampros Dragomoiris

Andreas Kerren

David Metcalf

Anita Mirijamdotter


Mhretab Kidane

Asreen Rostami

Former members

Marianne Björn

Julia Bons

Lusia Erldorfer

Robert Fohlin

Lisbeth Frølunde

Didac Gil de la Iglesia

Emil Johansson

David Johansson

Miranda Kajtazi

Sandra Kaltofen

Arianit Kurti

Dejan Ljubojevic

Lars Lorenz

Martin Maczkowski

Osama Mansour

Beatrice Moltkau

Magnus Persson

Lisa M. Rühmann

Juwel Rana

Valeriy Savinov

Daniel Spikol

Martin Svensson

Bahtijar Vogel

Editor Web

Dennis Willuhn

Anna Wingkvist

Simon Winter

Jane Yin-Kim Yau

Per Flensburg

Astrid Wichmann

Andreas Jeansson

Fredrik Alserin

Jonas Gustafsson

Philipp Rossmanith

Marine Karlsson

Carina Hallqvist

Taha Taha

Gunnar Mosnik

Ola Andersson