News Projects Publications People Contact Partners My_account


Marcelo Milrad

Marcelo Milrad is a Full Professor of Media Technology at the Faculty of Technology at Linnaeus University (LNU) in Sweden. He is also the director of the Center for Learning and Knowledge Technologies (CeLeKT). His current research interests include the design of learning environments to support learning about complex domains, collaborative discovery learning and the development of mobile and wireless applications to support collaborative learning. Professor Milrad teaches undergraduate courses in media technology and computer science with a special focus on XML, web 2.0 and mobile technologies. He teaches also at the international master program on Social Media and Web technologies at LNU. In addition, Professor Milrad is actively involved in doctoral courses in the field of Technology Enhanced Learning.

Professor Milrad has published over 200 articles in international journals, refereed conferences, books and technical reports. He has also been presenting and giving lectures about his work in more than 45 countries worldwide. During the last years he has been serving as a program committee member in a number of international scientific conferences such as CSCL, ICALT, WMUTE, ICCE and mLearn. He is also an editorial board member in several scientific journals in the field of Technology Enhanced Learning. Professor Milrad has acted as an executive member of the IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Learning Technology (LTTC) and he is one of the initiators of the IEEE International Conference on Wireless and Mobile Technologies in Education (WMTE). During 2007, he was one of the steering committee members of the Mobile Learning SIG, a research activity that was part of the European Network of Excellence on Technology Enhanced Learning Kaleidoscope.

Prior to entering LNU, Professor Milrad has been working at Växjö University, the Research Corporation for Media and Communication Technologies, the Institute for Media Technology (IMT), the Center for Human-Computer Studies (CMD) at Uppsala University, Sweden and the Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel. During the last 15 years, Professor Milrad has been directly involved in the design and development of multimedia based learning environments both in schools, universities and in industrial settings.

Contact info

Mobile:+46 (0)73 3969574
Office address: 2269D, Building D
PG Vejdes 6
35195, Växjö


Latest publications

J. Zbick, N. Baloian, M. Milrad, M. Jansen, and G. Zurita, “The (still) unused potential of mobile HTML5 in educational settings,” in Proceedings of the International Conference on Computers in Education (ICCE’16), 2016.

J. Zbick, B. Vogel, D. Spikol, M. Jansen, and M. Milrad, “Toward an Adaptive and Adaptable Architecture to Support Ubiquitous Learning Activities,” in Mobile, Ubiquitous, and Pervasive Learning, A. Peña-Ayala, Ed. Springer, 2016, pp. 193–222.

Alisa Sotsenko, Janosch Zbick, Marc Jansen, Marcelo Milrad. "Flexible and Contextualized Cloud Applications for Mobile Learning Scenarios" In: Mobile, Ubiquitous, and Pervasive Learning: Fundaments, Applications, and Trends / [ed] Alejandro Peña-Ayala, Springer Publishing Company, 2016, 167-192 p.

Alisa Sotsenko, Marc Jansen, Marcelo Milrad, Juwel Rana."Using a Rich Context Model for Real-Time Big Data Analytics in Twitter”. In: 2016 IEEE 4th International Conference on Future Internet of Things and Cloud Workshops (FICLOUDW), IEEE, 2016, 228-233 p.

Hoppe, U., Müller, M., Alissandrakis, A., Milrad, M., Schneegaß, C. and Malzahn, N., “VC/DC” - Video versus Domain Concepts in Comments to Learner - generated Science Videos, _Proceedings of the 24th International Conference on Computers in Education_ (ICCE 2016), Mumbai, India, 2016.

Müller, M., Otero, N. and Milrad, M. Shared Interactive Music Experiences in Public Spaces: User Engagement and Motivations. Proceedings of the ACM International Conference on Interactive Surfaces and Spaces (ISS 2016), 2016, Niagara Falls, Canada.

See all the publications >>


Aris Alissandrakis

Mattias Davidsson

Marc Jansen

Ilir Jusufi

Dan Kohen-Vacs

Marcelo Milrad

Susanna Nordmark

Nuno Otero

Sadaf Salavati

Jorge L. Zapico

PhD Students

Martin Östlund

Alisa Lincke

Maximilian Müller

Sarwar Morshed

Oskar Pettersson

Nico Reski

Janosch Zbick

Research Assistants

Romain Herault

Katrin Lindwall



Claudio Alvarez

Jorge de Sousa Pires

Lampros Dragomoiris

Andreas Kerren

David Metcalf

Anita Mirijamdotter


Mhretab Kidane

Asreen Rostami

Former members

Marianne Björn

Julia Bons

Lusia Erldorfer

Robert Fohlin

Lisbeth Frølunde

Didac Gil de la Iglesia

Emil Johansson

David Johansson

Miranda Kajtazi

Sandra Kaltofen

Arianit Kurti

Dejan Ljubojevic

Lars Lorenz

Martin Maczkowski

Osama Mansour

Beatrice Moltkau

Magnus Persson

Lisa M. Rühmann

Juwel Rana

Valeriy Savinov

Daniel Spikol

Martin Svensson

Bahtijar Vogel

Editor Web

Dennis Willuhn

Anna Wingkvist

Simon Winter

Jane Yin-Kim Yau

Per Flensburg

Astrid Wichmann

Andreas Jeansson

Fredrik Alserin

Jonas Gustafsson

Philipp Rossmanith

Marine Karlsson

Carina Hallqvist

Taha Taha

Gunnar Mosnik

Ola Andersson