News Projects Publications People Contact Partners My_account


Juwel Rana

Dr. Juwel Rana holds a Phd in Pervasive and Mobile Computing. He has been active in industrial and academic research settings since 2006. He has research experience from the Create-net research centre, the University of Trento, Luleå University of Technology, The Centre for Distance-spanning Technology, Ericsson Research – Luleå and Ericsson Research – Silicon Valley. He has as well contributed to several EU funded projects, EIT/ICT Labs projects, Swedish national funded projects, and industrial research projects. He published more than twenty scientific articles and two patents applications.

Currently, Dr. Rana is working at the Media Technology Department at Linnaeus University (LNU) as a senior lecturer and at the Data Analytics Department at the Telenor Group research as Data Scientist. His research interests span from social media to big data analytics that aim at simplifying communication within large-scale social networks, as well as innovating new social pervasive and mobile services to deal with upcoming challenges in area of real-time data analytics, data privacy, sharing open data and social media data, and so on.

Contact info

Room: D2257, D-house, Campus Växjö, LNU


Latest publications

Alisa Sotsenko, Marc Jansen, Marcelo Milrad, Juwel Rana."Using a Rich Context Model for Real-Time Big Data Analytics in Twitter”. In: 2016 IEEE 4th International Conference on Future Internet of Things and Cloud Workshops (FICLOUDW), IEEE, 2016, 228-233 p.

See all the publications >>


Aris Alissandrakis

Mattias Davidsson

Marc Jansen

Ilir Jusufi

Dan Kohen-Vacs

Marcelo Milrad

Susanna Nordmark

Nuno Otero

Sadaf Salavati

Jorge L. Zapico

PhD Students

Martin Östlund

Alisa Lincke

Maximilian Müller

Sarwar Morshed

Oskar Pettersson

Nico Reski

Janosch Zbick

Research Assistants

Romain Herault

Katrin Lindwall



Claudio Alvarez

Jorge de Sousa Pires

Lampros Dragomoiris

Andreas Kerren

David Metcalf

Anita Mirijamdotter


Mhretab Kidane

Asreen Rostami

Former members

Marianne Björn

Julia Bons

Lusia Erldorfer

Robert Fohlin

Lisbeth Frølunde

Didac Gil de la Iglesia

Emil Johansson

David Johansson

Miranda Kajtazi

Sandra Kaltofen

Arianit Kurti

Dejan Ljubojevic

Lars Lorenz

Martin Maczkowski

Osama Mansour

Beatrice Moltkau

Magnus Persson

Lisa M. Rühmann

Juwel Rana

Valeriy Savinov

Daniel Spikol

Martin Svensson

Bahtijar Vogel

Editor Web

Dennis Willuhn

Anna Wingkvist

Simon Winter

Jane Yin-Kim Yau

Per Flensburg

Astrid Wichmann

Andreas Jeansson

Fredrik Alserin

Jonas Gustafsson

Philipp Rossmanith

Marine Karlsson

Carina Hallqvist

Taha Taha

Gunnar Mosnik

Ola Andersson